NPPC Elects New Officers, Board Members

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 11, 2013 – The National Pork Producers Council March 9 at its annual business meeting – the National Pork Industry Forum – held March 8-9 in Orlando, Fla., elected new officers and members to its board of directors.

Taking over as president of the organization is Randy Spronk, a producer from Edgerton, Minn.; Howard Hill, a veterinarian with Iowa Select in Cambridge, Iowa, became president-elect; and Dr. Ron Prestage, a producer from Camden, S.C., was elected to the vice president’s position. Each was elected for a one-year term.

Prestage was re-elected to the board for a three-year term. Also elected to the board in the producer category – and serving a three-year term – were Jim Compart, from Nicollet, Minn.; Ken Maschhoff, from Carlyle, Ill.; and A.V. Roth, from Wauzeka, Wis.

“We have excellent leadership in Randy, Howard and Ron and quality, dedicated industry representatives in the new board members who were elected,” said NPPC CEO Neil Dierks. “I know that all of them will work diligently and tirelessly on behalf of America’s pork producers.”

In addition to the newly elected and re-elected officers and board members, continuing as NPPC directors are: Gary Asay, from Osco, Ill.; James Heimerl, from Johnstown, Ohio; William Kessler, from Mexico, Mo.; Mark Legan, from Coatesville, Ind.; Bill Luckey, from Columbus, Neb.; Ray Summerlin, from Rose Hill, N.C.; and John Weber, from Dysart, Iowa. Al Deutsch, who works for Automated Production Systems in Assumption, Ill., remains as the allied industry representative, and Chris Hodges, with Farmland Foods in Kansas City, is the newly elected packer-processor representative. R.C. Hunt, a producer from Wilson, N.C., will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Producers Phil Borgic, from Nokomis, Ill., and Scott Hayes, from Monroe City, Mo., were elected for one-year terms to NPPC’s Nominating Committee, which reviews the credentials of candidates for the organization’s board of directors.